D’Squad: High School’s Dilemma

Senior High School is a daunting place that can easily overwhelm just about anyone. Imagine being a new university, keeping up with terror instructors, choosing between hundreds of organizations, and meeting an entirely new set of people-that could not be walk in the park. You know what’s easy? It’s getting sucked into all these that you forget who you were before you set foot in senior high school.

These are the days when I miss junior high school the most. When I’m constantly tired because of all-nighters I’m pulling off, I miss how junior high school never made me feel exhausted to the point of giving up. When I fall for the very first time, I miss junior high school made me feel confident about my own intelligence. When I’m eating by my self because I haven’t made friends with anyone in our class yet, I miss just how fun lunch breaks used to be because I never had to eat alone. I miss how my junior high school friends read my mind when I complelled my sentences. The moments when I feel lost are also the moments when I compelled to pack my things and go back home yo my people. Junior High School was my comfort zone, my home.

But there is no going back now. The thing with time is that it never stops for anyone; unforgiving even to those who can barely keep up. I know I miss my junior high school friends but I need to give senior high school a chance to win over.

Then I suppose I’ll try to love it, even when I hate everything about it right now. Accept the fact that senior high school is a whole new world but I have to discover with new comrades, not because my junior high school friends don’t want to go with me, but because they also have their own new worlds to explore. I’ll let them find themselves in this great big world, but I’ll assure them that I’ll come running when they get lost in the process. Giving them a room to spread their wings and discover who they are does not always have to mean cutting them off of my life.

“Our friendship is the kind we never give up on, no mattter what happens, no matter where the world takes us. Know that they may be miles away apart fom us, exploring their own daunting worlds but they will always be waiting on the other line. I know we’ll see each other soon.”

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

